Excuse me?

I’ve been playing more Scrabble lately, having rediscovered ISC. It’s possible to play games as short as 8 minutes, making it quicker than the new Facebook Scrabble. Anyway, I’m used to a lot of the weird and wonderful words that are allowed, but tonight a new one on me was “BOEP“. I couldn’t find it at all the first time I searched on Google, and thought that maybe it’s a trap street, but then I discovered it’s an Afrikaans word for belly, and adding .za to my search I was able to verify that English-speakers in South Africa do indeed use this word, a word that I assume sounds like “burp”! How do I get rid of my beer boep, indeed…

One thought on “Excuse me?

Leave a Reply

